In My Mailbox # 13

In My Mailbox is a meme started by Kristi at The Story Siren . It’s a way in which bloggers can share comments and pictures of new books they received from Publishers or of books they bought themselves

I know I said that I would be posting an In My Mailbox post on Monday, but unfortunately work got in the way. But here I am with another book haul! I think my mom is going to scratch her head and wonder where on earth we’re going to put all my books once I move back home in December.

Book Haul

I apologize for the photo quality, I took the pictures from my cell phone.

Adam Canfield Of The Slash (Book # 1 in the Adam Canfield Series) by Michael Winerip

Okay, okay I know what you’re thinking. Why on earth would I buy another copy of this book when I already have one. Well it’s in hardcover alright! And it was only $3.99! Also I have the last book in the series in Hardcover and I’d like to keep it that way Thank You very much! And hey, who doesn’t say yes to a good bargain when they see one? ;).

Small, Medium at Large by Joanne Levy

I first saw this book on goodreads and I loved the synopsis of it. I think the cover is adorable. Oh and this edition is actually signed by the author! Joanne Levy was at last month’s YA Book Club Meeting at our local Bookstore. I also got a signed bookmark as well! However I wasn’t at the meeting because I didn’t even know the store had a bookclub! But I know now and I’m thinking about attending the monthly meetings.

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Before you get excited, this copy of TFIOS is not for me. It’s a gift for a friend of mine, the same friend who lent me his copy of LFA and introduced me to the world of nerdfighters. I hope he enjoys the book. As for me, I’ll happily read it in October when my John Green Box Set arrives!

Deadville by Ron Koertge

This was another bargain buy for me and I liked it. I thought the story could have been better, but I still enjoyed it!

Between The Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

This is my first Jodi Picoult read and I have to say I really disliked this book. I didn’t think it was worth my money and it disappoints me that I didn’t like it because I’ve heard such good things about Picoult’s  books. After reading this book, I’m not sure if I should actually read Picoult’s other work. Anyways a review for this book will be up within a week or so.

There you have it! Another book haul from me! What books did you get?

Enjoy your Wednesday!

Cheers,

Savindi

12 thoughts on “In My Mailbox # 13

  1. I’ve only read a bit of My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult but somehow it didn’t grab my attention. (Or maybe I was just distracted because I was in a very loud mall when I randomly picked it up.) I’m not sure if it was the writing style or what since the story certainly seemed to be compelling but I wasn’t impressed and felt that the book was overrated. Maybe we just disappointed ourselves with unconscious expectations. :P

    • I have a friend who absolutely loves Picoult’s work. I try not to get caught up with hype for a book, but sometimes it’s really hard to avoid it. I had the same problem with Between The Lines. A lot of people were talking about it and I feel really bad that I didn’t like it. Oh well guess all books are not everyone’s cup of tea. It might do me some good to remember that lol.

  2. Where on earth do you find all these fantastic deals on hardcovers?! When I do find a book that cheap it’s always in paperback.

    I’d like to know what you think of Small Medium at Large after you have the chance to read it. It sounds interesting.

    I know next to nothing about Jodi Picoult, expect that she wrote My Sister’s Keeper. Someone told me MSK’s ending is foreseeable and disappointing, though I haven’t heard much else. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your Picoult book. I hate trudging through books I don’t like! I had a similar experience with a Celia Rivenbark book — she’s a humorous essay writer, but I was just so bored and didn’t find it funny at all.

    Here’s to hoping your next book is a good one!

    • Haha my first destination at the bookstore is always the bargain books area. The teen section has it’s own one, so I go there or I go to the normal bargain books section. Thebookdepository is a good place to get books in hardcover for a reasonable price. Small Medium at Large is entertaining so far! But I might start over again just because I didn’t use a bookmark while reading it and I kept getting my pages mixed up.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Stacey :). I did see that a lot of people saying that Between The Lines is very different from her other books. I’m disappointed that I didn’t like to be honest! I wanted to like it, but there were elements in it that drove me up the wall.It’s probably me and not the book.

      Maybe I will check out Nineteen Minutes. You always give good recommendations :)

      • Oh, no, it definitely won’t appeal to everyone! I did enjoy it, but I expected to enjoy it a lot more, which I probably would’ve done if I were a lot younger.

      • Yeah I expected to enjoy it a lot more. But I feel like it was marketed to the wrong YA audience. Does that make sense? I thought it would be a better read for 12-14 year olds. Could you tell which parts of the book were written by Picoult and which parts were written by Samantha?

      • I felt that maybe Oliver’s character was written by Picoult…I’m not sure though lol since I’ve never read anything by her. The story reminded me a lot of the tv show Once Upon a Time.

Leave a Reply

