2013 Book Releases I’m Excited About Part I

Hi Everyone!

I hope you’re all having a good weekend so far :). I hope those who were on Reading Week enjoyed themselves and I hope you got to read some awesome books. Speaking of books, I can’t help but get excited about new books despite the fact that I already own so many books that are screaming to be read. Anyways I thought I’d share with you some books I’m really looking forward to reading this year. I’ve added a goodreads link so you can check them out if you’re interested :).

All images were taken from goodreads

All images were taken from goodreads

Emperor of Thorns (Book # 3 in The Broken Empire Trilogy) by Mark Lawrence

There’s no point of hiding my love for this trilogy. I’m sad that the trilogy is coming to a close, but I’m so excited to see where Jorg Ancrath is going to end up. I’ve adored this character since I discovered Prince of Thorns thanks to Emma from Book  Monkey. Mark Lawrence has easily become one of my favourite authors and I do hope he continues to write more books because I’m sure to pick them up.

The Morning Star (Book # 3 in The Katerina Trilogy) by Robin Bridges 

I know I’ve shared this book on “Waiting on Wednesday” but I’ll share it again because this is another trilogy I’ll be sad to see over. I’ve enjoyed Robin Bridges’ work set in Imperial Russia. I hope she continues to write more historical fiction. I hope the ending will be epic!

The Dream Thieves (Book # 2 in The Raven Cycle) by Maggie Stiefvater

As for as I’m concerned we can just skip summer and September can just come soon. The Raven Boys was one of my favourite books from last year and I cannot wait to see where Stiefvater will take us with her wonderful writing. I’m so excited to find out more about the Raven Boys and Glendower. And the cover is so beautiful! I’ve already pre-ordered the book. My visa bill is going to sky-rocket during the summer with all the books I want!

Dirty Wars: The World is a Battlefield by Jeremy Scahill

This book is based on the documentary with the same title which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. I’m really interested in watching/reading this book and documentary because it focuses on the whole Drone Wars issue that has been going on in the United States. I watched an interview with Jeremy Scahill on democracynow.org and I learned a lot about the issue. I really do hope the documentary will premier at The Toronto Film Festival, but even if it doesn’t I’m going to read this book and find the documentary online if I have to.

The Third Son by Julie Wu

I’m on kind of a historical fiction kick at the moment and because I studied East Asian History a lot in University. I feel like there’s not a lot of fiction which focuses on Taiwan and the Japanese Occupation.  This book starts off during 1943, so I’m excited to read more about it and the experience of Taiwanese people. Hopefully it’ll be a good read!

Children of the Jacaranda Tree by Sahar Delijani

I first heard about this book via Jamie from The Perpetual Page Turner when she talked about it in one of her Catalog Posts. It was only in the past two years that I discovered fiction about the Middle East and as a student of Middle Eastern History I love hearing about some of the fiction that has been produced about the region. This book takes place after the Iranian Revolution of 1979. I haven’t read any post-revolution fiction so I’m looking forward to reading this one.

What books are you excited to read this year?

Cheers,

Savindi

 

12 thoughts on “2013 Book Releases I’m Excited About Part I

  1. Children of the Jacaranda Tree sounds great. I’ve put it on my to-read list on Goodreads :D
    And I’ve heard so many people talking about Maggie Stiefvater, so I’m guessing her books are worth reading. To be honest I’d never heard of her until recently, but perhaps I should give one of her books a go :)

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Philippa! I’m excited for Children of the Jacaranda Tree too! I haven’t read anything else by Stievfater except The Raven Boys, but I really enjoyed that one. I’ve heard good things about The Scorpio Races and mixed things about her Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But I’d definitely recommend The Raven Boys :).

  2. Pingback: Synopsis for The Dream Thieves (Book # 2 in The Raven Cycle) by Maggie Stievfater | The Streetlight Reader

  3. I really need to read the Katerina trilogy since I know you love it so much and The Broken Empire trilogy. Two series that come highly recommended from you. Up until a couple of weeks ago I didn’t realise The Raven Boys was going to be a series book, but I’ll definitely have to think about reading it at some point otherwise I’ll start reading when there are lots of books. haha. Great picks. I hope you enjoy those when you get your hands on them, dearest!!

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Olivia! Ahaha I tend to ramble about The Broken Empire Trilogy and The Katerina Trilogy a bit don’t I? If you get a chance to read them I do hope you enjoy them! and if you don’t I’d still like to hear your thoughts on both of them!

      I would recommend The Raven Boys for sure. Maybe you can read the first book around August-that way you’re not going to have to wait for a long time till the sequel comes out. I haven’t read any of Stiefvater’s other books, but I can definitely recommend this one.

      • I think that sounds like a good suggestion for The Raven Boys and all my exams will be over then. I can’t wait for that time!

        Ahh I enjoy your talking about both series and I very nearly bought the first book in the Broken Empire Trilogy the other day, but they didn’t have it in so I couldn’t, but I would have otherwise since I was thinking of you! :-P

  4. I had a lot of fun reading The Gathering Storm — must get my review written this week! — and I want to read second book before the third comes out. I doubt the second book to Hartman’s Seraphina will come out this summer (which I’m DYING for), so I’m looking for other books that will tide me over. I have to read Maggie Stiefvater over the summer if not before — maybe I can read The Raven Boys before the sequel is released.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed The Gathering Storm Raya! I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it!I’d recommend reading The Raven Boys over the summer, actually August to be more precise so you don’t have to wait a long time to read the sequel. Or even you can read Prince of Thorns lol :P. Just sayin :P.

Leave a Reply

